Kolachi Karachi

By Marylou

A hammer with its handle turned heavenwards

I have been a bad 'blipper'. The weekend was a quite busy - my brother came back from his vacation in Nepal and so a lot of time was spent chatting about his experiences there, what the people were like, what was the food was like etc etc.

I wasn't really in the mood to blip today. It's been a rough week here in Pakiland and I think it has caught up with me. It's the 'usual' spate of terrorist attacks and targeted killings. There are so many of them that mostly people just tend to ignore them. We're not being insensitive, it's just the only way to survive. This last week's violence, however has been hard to ignore. 11 young college women killed when their bus was targeted, Mr Jinnah's Ziarat residence destroyed, a government representative and his son shot dead as they exited the mosque after Friday prayers and 10 tourists shot dead at the Nanga Parbat base camp yesterday (following which Pakistan has suspended all expeditions). It is hard to remain unaffected.

Perhaps it is appropriate that I am blipping about my church today because I need to remember that in spite of all this God is in control.

Moving on though, this is the Holy Trinity Cathedral Karachi which the explorer Sir Richard Burton called a 'hammer with its handle turned heavenwards'.

I don't really feel like writing too much so I will leave you with a link - I wrote this piece for the newspaper a year ago at Easter.
http://dawnadvertiser.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/easter-at-holy-trinity/

Sorry about the depressing post folks. Hoping to be back with something lighter tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.