Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pond

Capturing the moment when the biggest puddle in the park, being graced by the visit of some ducks, officially became a pond. Nice weather for them. 

Later I went to see a stripped back performance from Lambchop.  I’d last seen them in 2002 when a (very) full band of a dozen or so musicians filled the stage at  Newcastle Opera House. Tonight it was just band leader Kurt Wagner on vocals with collaborator Andrew Broder on grand piano which made for some quite different song arrangements. A very powerful performance though. 

It was a new venue for me - the Howard Assembly Room in Leeds, part of the Opera North set up. Space for just 300 so quite intimate. It had been off my radar, but it looks like they have some good acts in the experimental/folk/jazz/world/acoustic sphere,  and I’ve now got a couple more shows lined up there. Leeds-based sound artist/performer Lottie Sadd offered support. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.