MikeWest

By MikeWest

Straw Poll

With flattened vegetation after the heavy wet snow earlier this month, walking along the edge of the inlet was relatively easy. I became interested in patches of grass emerging from deep snow. I guess it was the contrast of textures, snow simplifies things, and curving shapes, which attracted me.

From a straw poll of my observations, I would say winter has been short lived this year. It almost felt spring like today, but maybe we're being taunted. (The idiom of a straw poll alludes to holding a stalk to see the wind direction).


On some of other similar shots, I experimented with local curves in LR to bring out local contrast - in the grass, say - but this image didn't seem to need it. Useful to know though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.