SilverImages

By SilverImages

St David's Church, Llangeview

“May my soul bloom in love for all existence.”
Rudolf Steiner
Following more inspiration from BobsBlips today, so thanks once again for this, I decided to start my day with a visit to explore. While we were talking yesterday he mentioned a church just outside Usk, visible from the slip road onto the A449 (main Monmouth to Newport road). I can’t recall seeing it before as it’s partly screened by trees, but when I was driving back yesterday I looked out for it and sure enough, there it was on the hill. Followed Bob’s directions and they were spot-on, found it no problem. It’s another Friends of Friendless Churches managed Church (we’d called to St James’s at Llangua yesterday, which is still locked, awaiting structural work).
Most of the surviving building is from the C15th, although the earliest recorded mention of it is in 1254, but as ever there's suggestion it goes back much earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.