Pilar

By acula

Home, home!

I lived on the top floor of that elegant block when I was very young and considered it my family home. 
We had a very large flat (we were a very large family), which was freezing cold in winter and very hot in summer. The block didn't have a lift, central heating or air conditioning, but our flat was so big that I could use my skates in the corridor and even my little bicycle, and we could play hide-and-seek  or whatever we could think of without disturbing the adults!
Then I left home like all my brothers and sisters and my parents moved to a smaller flat.
Now I feel sorry because this block is going to be demolished and in a few months a modern apartment block will take its place.
I am sure that the new apartments will be more comfortable and much more modern but I don't think they will manage to maintain the special flavour of this block from the 1940s, and the flats won't be so big!!
In the extra, the main gate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.