WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Seasonal

Well, it is January ... I suppose gloomy weather is to be expected! At least it's not cold. Taken on my 2 km circuit today.

When I was talking to S a couple of days ago, he said he was going to cook a roast chicken for dinner (he is spending a lot of time cooking). When I'm cooking just for myself, I tend to do scrappy meals which generally feature pasta, are vegetarian, or both. His comment simmered gently in my brain, and when I went to the producers' cooperative yesterday I bought a guineafowl as well as vegetables. So lunch today was pot-roasted guineafowl with root vegetables (carrot, turnip, butternut squash, onion, leek). I even stirred myself to roast some potatoes. What a treat -- it was delicious. Mystère approved too, and there are lots of leftovers for making interesting meals over the next few days.

And tonight is pizza night! Yes, I bought a whole pizza and just ate a bit of it as a snack with a glass of wine. That leaves me with something else to nibble at over the next couple of days. That could be a good thing, as after a brief lull the farmers are getting angry again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.