Beewriter

By Beewriter

Goodbye!

Today we said goodbye to dad. We have waited years to find a good time to  get together and take his ashes to Cemaes Bay on Anglesey and at last we scattered them today. Cemaes Bay has played a huge part in all our lives...dad used to holiday there as a child and we spent all our holidays there too. My grandparents had a bungalow there and we had such fun there as children, I have so many happy memories. We had decided that Cemaes was the perfect place for him to be scattered.

The weather was glorious, it couldn't have been any better for us. We parked up at the beach and walked up onto the headland. My sister had found a great poem by Spike Milligan, dad would have laughed at it, and she read it out. I reminisced about happy times and then we each had a swig of some Carlsberg and poured the rest out for a final drink for dad...then we released him out into the bay. We were in sight of the big beach, the little beach, the harbour and houses that have special connections to our family. The bay was where he loved to sail our boat and so it was all perfect.

We carried on over the headland to the Blow Hole and then on to White Lady. When we returned to the beach I had a swim. The water was cold but absolutely fabulous in the sunshine. I was the only one in the water but I had a few people watching lol. We then had lunch at Gadlys Hotel where I warmed up a bit. 

I think we did dad proud. He would have loved a day by the beach, he would have loved taking photos, he would have loved playing with a drone and he would have loved the drink, the food and the sunshine. 

Extras are the drone shots....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.