campervan man

By campervan

New toy

Well its new to me anyway.
A friend is moving out of the village, leaving his house with 2 acres and buying one with a small pocket handkerchief garden. He does no need his ride on mower any more and offered it to me.
My mower is approaching a quarter of a century old and has not been well used, I have mangled the steering at least twice. This mower is about 10 years old and has been regularly maintained and even washed!!He also gave me his 20 litre jerry can, oil and a John Deere cap. And the most important thing is the mower is a John Deere

I drove it up our lane. Ride on mowers seem to go quite fast on the lawn. They do not go fast on the road, I was constantly looking behind in case a car, bike or possibly a fast snail wanted to overtake. I got home safely only to find how much bigger this one is compared to the old one. A lot of stuff had to be moved in the garage to accommodate it but all sorted now.
Come summer having cut the grass I will happily sit on it in the middle of the lawn with my new cap on doing nothing except gloating that I on a John Deere mower. When I way much younger I always wanted an Alpha Romeo car. There were far better , more practical cars but that did not matter, I wanted an Alpha. I never got one.
Now in my old age I lusted after a brand of lawn mower instead of a brand of sports car and have had my wishes granted. 
Strange how your desires change with age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.