What I've Done

By JohnGravett

On Raise

After yesterday's dreadful weather, we woke to a dry day, but still couldn't see the tops because of cloud. I felt we still needed to press on with my Wainwright Challenge, so we drove down to Fisher Place on the A591 and parked up.

As we climbed Raise, the clouds cleared to reveal a pretty good covering of snow over about 2250 feet. (good job I had my spikes). Managed both Raise and White Side, though on the tops the temperature was about -5, but the 60 mph wind (yes - really)! did make it feel considerably colder.

Still, Numbers 165 and 166 knocked off, and that completed the Eastern Fells Book.

I took over 200 photos on the Nikon, yet really liked this one of iced grasses, shot on the wide lens of the phone - which gave me an incredible DoF, that I simply couldn't manage with the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.