PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

From Scratch

Something scraped the sunrise sky;
it's scratched in all directions.
Must have rubbed up against some planes
to leave such imperfections!

© Celia Warren 2024

First day home with his new hip and the first of a new month: bodes well. Mr PP didn't have too bad a night and seemed to be dozing each time I checked on him throughout the night. Even managed to sleep a bit myself, though I was on edge, listening...

Beautiful sunrise followed by a sunny if chilly day. I spent all afternoon stitching strands of wool into a rainbow, then knitting and stitching a number 7 to a tee-shirt for little Miss B to wear to school tomorrow. (The rainbow colours being the rationale behind the chosen number!) They have to go to school wearing something with a number on it and, having failed to find anything suitable in the shops, not even pin-on number badges, Granny came to the rescue. I enjoyed the challenge of course. Quite pleased how I achieved the 7 ... increasing on one edge, and knitting two together on the other to get the sloping angle. Then cast off and picked up stitches down the side to create the top of the digit. Fun! Her class are learning about odd and even numbers, so I guess it relates to that.

This morning I baked apple scones. Hardly any left now, though I did give some to Family B. Our son-in-law is here now, not just to pick up his daughter's tee-shirt, but also to finish tweaking the pipes behind our white-goods. What a good family we have! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.