Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Speed Dial

Last February, when in the outback in South Africa next to the Kruger National Park, the speed dial display fell off my Nikon FM3A film camera. Despite retracing my steps around the hut and long grass, I couldn't find it. My hunch that it'd be a sod to replace was correct. Enquiries with a camera shop in America, who had a few, was frustrating over a couple of months. A couple of months ago, a camera shop in Malaysia had what I wanted and after paying an arm and a leg, plus selling a kidney for shipping, it arrived a week later.

The speed dial was held on by two micro screws of which even my micro screwdrivers were too big, and worried I'd lose the screws or damage them, I phoned a camera repair shop in Bristol I've used before, who told me to bring it in. I drove there this morning and he did it on the spot and was kind enough not to charge. Sad thing is they aren't accepting any new repairs as they are retiring later this year and the shop will be no longer!

I couldn't resist a black and white photograph with a 'newspaper' style preset I programmed in to my camera. There aren't many of these old camera repair shops and sad this one is going. It seems nothing is forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.