Skyroad

By Skyroad

Framed Liner, Blackrock, Co Dublin

Sea was calmer today. I took this from the bridge over the railway near Blackrock Station (the boat is in there, if you look for it).

Whenever I pass on the nearby road, this bridge catches my eye, offering a compelling sightline on the sea. I knew I would use it for a blip sooner or later. On Monday, it was getting late when I eventually had a chance to go blipping. I crossed the bridge, wondering if I'd see anything interesting along the seawall below. Apart from a cruise ship heading off past Howth Head, nothing presented itself but slate-coloured sea and sky. I lingered there for awhile, thinking of nothing in particular, soaking up the crepuscular, deepening blues. When I see a boat on the evening horizon, lines from Larkin's poem 'Livings' often come to mind:

"Lit shelved liners
Grope like mad worlds westwards."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.