Smoking gun

The timeshare dog is being trained to be a gundog, but Cyril is a bit concerned that she might be gun-shy. So I volunteered to go with him to his night at the gun club and keep hold of Jade to get her used to the sound of the guns.

It was a very interesting night; the site has ruined world war 2 gun placements and fantastic views across the moor. I'm glad their numbers were rather depleted from what I believe is the usual 15 tonight, so I didn't have a chance to get bored! And the good news is that Jade didn't seem all that bothered by the guns. It's in my interests to make sure she cuts the mustard so there's no chance she has to find a new home.

I did get a chance to shoot; I almost wimped out under the gaze of six experienced shots but what the hell... It's fair to say I won't be troubling the selectors for the Commonwealth Games next year. And there is a pretty good chance I'm going to have some impressive bruising on my shoulder from the recoil. All part of life's grand adventure!

Thanks, Cyril!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.