photorat

By rat

Cliff

A tough day today on the Devil's Burdens relay. The burdens are a rock formation on West Lomond and the Devil is supposed to have dropped the rocks from his back as he flew over the hills.
My leg of the relay didn't take me near them, it was up East Lomond, and was tough, though the underfoot conditions were better than when I went up last month. Today two problems (beside the extremely steep ascent). 1. A gale force cold wind that was gusting round the hill and directly against me on a long stretch round the back. 2. Hard to find checkpoints at a couple of points, though maybe on the uphill bit it did give me time to catch my breath!
I was last on my bit (no surprise) but the rest of the team did well.
I then did a shorter, less hilly loop to make it up to 9 miles and passed these cliffs on the way. No pics from the race bit, I was far enough behind as it was, but I did blip some when I did the recces.
The people doing the next 2 legs has even more wind exposure and the marshals must have been frozen, even though they were at the bottom there was no wind resite
My 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.