Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A CHALLENGING SERMON THIS MORNING!

After a quiet, relaxing day yesterday, when I really did re-charge my batteries - and yes, I need more than one to keep me going - we went to Church this morning as usual.  The worship was amazing and I was really blessed by all the music.   We have a baby grand piano at Church - a Danemann - which means nothing to me, but may mean something to those of you in the know - together with a guitar, cajon and a saxophone and it was so good to hear them especially when there were “musical interludes”.  Not sure that those are the right words, but just saying “bits in-between” doesn’t sound quite right!  Anyway, I think you get the picture or even the sound.

The sermon was very challenging and the preacher asked us if we put anything in the place of God in our lives - what takes over so that God is pushed into second place - a hobby, car, money, or something we do.  

This challenged me because sometimes I feel that Blip takes over, but then I realise that it gets me out and about, keeps me in touch with people, many of whom have become great friends and also means that Mr. HCB and I go out together many times looking for something for one of the challenges.

In the meantime, I still make a space in my day, sometimes in the morning and sometimes later, for my quiet time, when I can read my Bible and pray.  

I have said once or twice in the past that I would just post the photograph or collage, but somehow that doesn’t seem enough to me - and I know that sometimes I do say rather a lot, but I can type very fast, so it doesn’t take me that long.

So, to explain my collage for today - the first shot at the top left is the beautiful hair and scarf of our preacher’s wife and the second is the preacher’s hand on his Bible.  Underneath is a beautiful hat I spotted on one of the children and I did ask Mum if I could photograph it - but I promised that the child’s face wouldn’t be in my Blip. The same child wanted me to take a photograph of her teddy bear, which of course, I was happy to do, so that is next to her hat.  Then of course, there is the shot of the “gubbins” of the baby grand piano - and I hope that our accomplished pianist will forgive me for that description, but it was, played beautifully by her today, and I’m sure blessed not only me, but many others. 

At the bottom left is the saxophone, also played very well - and much enjoyed by both Mr. HCB and me.  All the instruments today blended in so well and during some of the worship songs, the sounds created really touched me deeply.

At the bottom right is the little sister of the child with the hat, who also wanted me to take a photograph of her teddy bear.  Perhaps I should take my Silly Saturday Gang to Church one Sunday!  Then there is another great hat - I’m not giving away who it was, but he was happy for me to take his photograph - and always has a twinkle in his eye.

As I wandered around the Church, I spied a strange sight - one of the cameras that records the service was mounted on a tripod, under which, amongst other things, were two weights.  I thought perhaps the person who was doing the recording also “did some weights” at the same time, to save him going to the gym, but when I asked what they were for, he told me that someone in the pew just in front - and we don’t have many pews left in Church - sometimes gets excited and dances and this was to stop the camera falling down on her head - no names mentioned!

To finish with - and no names again - this tee shirt was worn by someone who has a birthday today - he and I often have a little spar, so it made me laugh when I saw what it said on the front - no hard feelings though!

So that’s a quick run-through of my morning at Church - of course, afterwards, we went out into the hall and had coffee and chatted to lots of our friends there.  Before we left, someone asked me if I felt like being “arty” and making something to go into the Bags of Hope for Valentine’s Day - so I said I would and have just finished them - but obviously can’t spoil the surprise for anyone.  Suffice to say we hope that these little gestures, sent from our Church, will bless those who receive them.

Have a great week - and remember, BE KIND and perhaps even practice Random Acts of Kindness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.