WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Springtime

The team of the Amicale Laïque kindly invited me to lunch with the volunteers today, although really my only contribution to the summer activities has been to take photos. There were about 25 of us with spouses, children, and other hangers-on, and after lengthy aperos on the placette as usual, we crammed into the Maison du Citoyen for lunch -- a mixture of leftovers and bought-in stuff. 

It was extremely copious, especially given that we'd already had food with the aperos: vast platters of country pâté to start, served with B's excellent sourdough baked this morning (extra 2). Then lentils with sausage and duck confit, actually out of tins -- acceptable but we all agreed homemade is better. Then an extremely substantial apple tart from the bakery in Ferrals just about finished us off.

Back home at 3:30, I felt absolutely stuffed, but decided that the answer to this was not to collapse on the sofa and go to sleep, but go for a walk. Only a very short one, but I'm sure it did me good, and I haven't fallen asleep yet. No more food and probably an early night with a book.

I was torn between mono and colour of this almond tree, so I've posted colour in extras. There's been a sudden flurry of blossom in the last two sunny days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.