Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Focus on the crocus

Here's our first crocus of 2024. It's doing its best to add colour to our yarden on a very grey drizzly day. I snapped this shot when Mr hazelh and I returned from our run at lunchtime.

It's a miracle that we had the energy to run at all after a rather disturbed night. As I was lying in bed just after midnight debating whether or not to bail out for the sofa bed in the study, Mr hazelh suddenly leapt out of bed and ran down the hall to the front door. Our burglar alarm was screaming at full volume with not a single burglar in sight - and we couldn't work out how to silence it! 

While Mr hazelh rang the alarm company, I contacted the police to reassure them that there was no need for anyone to come round if any of the neighbours reported the racket. After about 20 minutes the alarm gave up and it looked like it would be safe to go back to bed, but not until after we contacted our neighbours by WhatsApp and email to apologise. Then the doorbell rang! A couple of police officers had come round to check that my earlier call instructing them to ignore the shrieking alarm was genuine. We were really touched that they made the effort to confirm that all was well. (Oh, and I did retreat to the study after they left.)

Today I have mainly worked on my journal article. I also made a delicious turkey pie with dauphinoise potatoes for our supper. 

Exercise today: 7k run; walking (14,612 steps including run.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.