SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Persian Lustreware

I was meeting up with family at Sissinghurst Garden today. Although the garden was mostly dormant, they had a small exhibition about the former owners' connection with Iran through the British diplomatic service.

It's a particularly uncomfortable time to be reflecting on the history of Britain's intervention in the Middle East, but I'm glad to have the opportunity to appreciate the pottery they brought back...

There were some examples of Persian lustreware, most of which were heavily reconstructed. My drawing is from a seventeenth century vase which I found online, but took the liberty censoring it slightly by removing the obvious prey from the hunter's sights.

Watched "Kill Bill: Volume 1", which made up for my avoidance of an artistic depiction of violence, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.