Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Transition

I’m isolating for five days because of possible Covid-19 exposure on my trip. It seems only sensible, as we are having another surge, and Sue is dealing with complications of cataract surgery. She’ll see a retinologist on Thursday, but this is not a time to take risks.

It’s a sudden transition, a little like being dropped off in another universe. I was with people intensely every moment for four days; now solitude except for the occasional phone call or FaceTime. I’m sure Maria is feeling the same, to the power of infinity. 

I’m processing photos from the wake and the funeral and have begun building a book of 262 photographs for Maria and her daughters. That keeps me absorbed. 

After five or six hours on the screen, I take a break to clean house and let go of more books. This afternoon I strolled over to the hospital with a stack of them for the little free library, and then I felt drawn to the statue of St. Francis. He has appeared in my blips many times over the past 14 years. His smile and his petting familiarity with a crowd of absurdly large crows always provides some humor and some comfort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.