The Pensioner

By Pensioner

The pleasure of shopping

The s-i-l being away getting a sore head in Wales, and the daughter being a bit under the weather we offered to take small boy off her hands. So we entertained him awhile before dropping in at Asda and picking up some treats (well, OK, paper and flowers) for her as well as ourselves. And the small boy enjoyed that. A chip off the old. grandad block, that. I used to love going round “the store” with my Mum on a Friday - an advanced place was St Cuthberts at Currie back then - they had trollies back in the early 60s,  though not big cage things, that you could sit kids in, just frames on wheels you could place two plastic baskets in, one above another. The aisles were so much narrower of course. Ah, I feel the nostalgia wash over me: Poonakandy tea and Trill picked up for my granny. For her budgie, I should be clear.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.