Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Anna Kavan!

10°C  -  20 mph WSW Wind Speed  -  37 mph Gusts  -  Rain.  Will it ever stop raining?  Consequently a reading day so I picked at random a book from my bookshelves  - and landed with Anna Kavan's 'Ice'.  I must've read it lots over the years but it still has a fascination for me.  I think it was the last book she wrote but I first became interested in her writings when at the tender age of 16 I hosted and edited a manuscript magazine.  This was at a time when many of us couldn't afford a typewriter so all our work was hand-written.  Writers would send me their handwritten short stories or other writings and I would gather them together and bind them as a magazine.  I had a list of the contributors and monthly I would send to the first on the list and they would send it on to the next on the list  -  eventually it would come back to me with comments contributed by the writers.  It was a fascinating time for me.  More fascinating was the life of Anna Kavan  -  you read about her HERE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.