SilverImages

By SilverImages

Chartist Bridge

“The purpose of life is to discover your gift.
The work of life is to develop it.
The meaning of life is to give your gift away.”

David Viscott
Reading The Way Home by Mark Boyle I came across a term I’d not heard before, a Death Doula. It was in the context of someone offering spiritual services, which is apparently on the increase and included just spending time with someone, walking companions etc. “You know that industrial capitalism is nearing the completion of its ultimate vision when people have to pay their neighbours to go for a walk with them.” Such a plethora of terms emerging to describe end-of-life companions, which I’d seen advertised on a notice board at the hospital recently. I’m not knocking it, just surprised at another emerging ‘profession’. I suppose it speaks of an increasing compartmentalising, a distancing between western society (in particular) and the sometimes messy process of living and dying. Also my lack of awareness of the rituals and preparation of the dead for burial that would have been second nature in my grandfather’s family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.