OMP

By OMP

Western Tailed-Blue

Her detail is much better in large. I love that little turned-up nose!

I spotted this little bugger on my way out today. Not on a flower or anywhere attractive, but as I approached I realized that she was so pretty, she would still make a good blip. Of course, my camera was at hand, so I approached her carefully. Inching my way in (I've developed a skill for stalking bugs... not a marketable skill, but a skill none-the-less.) snapping images as I held my breath. But, oddly, she stayed put. As I got closer, she turned to face me - so unusual and so interesting. Though, I really wanted more of her profile. I decided to risk a slow swing of my hips so that I was sitting on the ledge with her, she stayed and I kept clicking away. A little closer, closer, heck I even had time to check the exposure and adjust the exposure compensation for a few. Then she released a liquid out of her back end (the obvious crossed my mind, but who knows with a butterfly...) and off she went.

The whole time I was photographing her, I thought she was a fancy Skipper - right size and has the feathery tips to the wings. But once I scanned the insect book, I realized that she is actually a small butterfly (there is quite a difference in face shape from the skipper as well as those tiny wing tails.) She was so pretty and petite in person, check out this size comparison. I find it so amazing that all that detail came from something so small. (The screw heads in the size comp. image are only a 1/4 inch across.)

Once again, I feel pretty privileged to get to witness nature up so close. I'm finding beauty where I never expected it to be. One of my favorite Blip lessons...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.