CherryR

By CherryR

My grandmother's brooch

The theme for Tiny Tuesday is 'something special to you' and I immediately thought of this brooch. It's a gold mourning brooch which my mother iinherited from her mother. .

 I found one just like it for sale on the internet describing it perfectly:-
This exquisite Etruscan revival Victorian locket is outlined with twisted gold wire and has the archetypical period gold granulation all over its face. At the center is an eight pointed star, outlined in dark blue enamel and raised from the surface atop a scalloped border. A single pearl is set at its center.
The back contains a secure piece of glass, intended for either a photograph or hair, behind an original pin and C-clasp. A hidden bail is at the locket's rear top, enabling it to be worn horizontally from a chain.



 My grandmother Alice Ashcroft was born in 1884. I wonder if she had it to mourn one of her parents. She died in 1936 when my mother was only 12 years old. My mother told me that the navy fabric it is sitting on is a scrap from Alice's wedding dress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.