Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Something I Cooked Up in the Studio

I used recipe clippings my grandma saved in this little shadow box assemblage.  She was always cutting out recipes and interesting things she found and putting them in her little scrapbooks.  I am so glad I have three of them.  She was a very good "plain" cook as she would describe herself.  There is a tiny cast iron fry pan in there that belonged to my mother, part of a wood cook stove set she had as a child, which I have on my wood cook stove now.  It is standing on tart tins and, of course, I had to add some of her old buttons.  The narrow quilt patterned border is for all the quilts she made.  Both she and my mom were expert traditional quilters.  A lot of memories in this tiny box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.