Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

JR went off to the gym this morning in -2°! She's keen. Archie and I were much more sensible and wandered out a bit later, when it had warmed up to, oh, about 0°... I put on my hat with the ear flaps, though there was no wind.

We had a look round the new plantings in the Links. Some of them look like just a wee weed, or a just a bare twig of something, but one was definitely holly. (Extra) So they seem to be all different things, planted close together. Interesting.

I may need to take back my doubts about the cooncil replacing the setts properly on the road - I came by today, and they were putting them back, at great effort, with a big rubber hammer, probably cursing their job. But I thanked him for doing this. 'No worries, pal'.

Archie has developed a wee lump under his right armpit. It's very small, and doesn't seem to bother him, though he's been licking it a bit. Thought we'd better get it checked out. We were both setting off for a 2.30 appointment
this afternoon, Archie and JR walking, me meeting them there on the 2pm bus. Good plan. They set off at 1.45, and I walked up to get the 2pm bus, only to see it sailing by at 1.57! How very annoying. I started to walk home, then checked the other bus, and saw it was almost due, and as I walked back, it sailed by too. I came home.

The new iPad covers arrived just as we were leaving. Great!

No, not great. Wrong size. I've ordered the proper size and got a code to return the others at the post office. DUH!

Later: They're back! And yes, with the 'Cone of Shame' Something has been rubbing on his front leg (possibly the car harness we gave to Derek for the vet visits, but it was used for walkies too, as we saw on the many videos) and he's been licking it a bit and it's infected. SOOO, a week with the cone on, some special ointment to rub in the sore bit (it's been shaved).

Poor wee Archie. 

Embarrassing cone photo tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.