Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Return to Lindesfarne.

It’s another early start as we return to Lindesfarne. The plan is to photograph the Pilgrim’s Path at sunrise, but foolishly I’d forgotten that the low tide would not make for the watery composition that I’ve planned. And in any case, the heavy grey skies suggest there will be little colour - despite the forecast.  

We decide to drive over the causeway and see what Lindesfarne harbour has to offer - low tide means the island is safely accessible until 10.50. Everywhere is deserted - so different from the crowds of the weekend, and G decides it will be OK to drive down to the shore. There’s still no sign of any colour, and we’re drinking coffee when suddenly there’s a burst of deep pink in the sky. I grab my camera - no time to pick up my tripod - and dash out to attempt to capture the moment. 

Standing there in the cold morning air looking out onto the castle is magical. A couple of other photographers appear, but there’s an intense feeling of peace, just the lappng of the waves and the lonely calls of sea birds. The intense colour vanishes as quickly as it appeared, leaving a velvety mauve glow. Flocks  of light-bellied Brent geese fly overhead, their distinctive sound foretelling their presence before I see them. They circle the harbour several times before settling on the water. 

Reluctantly accepting that the show is over, we return to the mainland, pausing at intervals along the causeway to photograph the refuge reflected in the now pinkish water. The silence once again is mesmerising, broken only by the mystical cries of curlews. 

I do wish that I could be more decisive. I’m torn between the pink sky castle, the mono    harbour shot and two shots of the castle from the harbour, one with the flock of ghostly geese - my shutter speed is far too slow for a sharp capture! Soit’s almost a random choice - and I might change it! Oh, and thrown in for good measure there’s a shot of the refuge hut across the shallow waters. 

Edit: I’ve changed my main to the mono. There’s something about Lindesfarne which lends itself to mono - though it may be counterintuitive for a sunrise shot! 

Many thanks for your generosity for yesterday’s sunset set - there’s definitely been an obsession with the sun this holiday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.