DavidBarry

By DavidBarry

Glasto vets

Three Glastonbury veterans prepare for their annual pilgrimage with a hearty breakfast at Watermark in Scarborough before their 300-mile journey south. I went with them five times between 1989 and about 1995 before I decided the festival was too big, with not enough of the kind of music I wanted to see and too much music I didn't like / wasn't interested in. But I like this year's line-up. If I was going I'd want to see Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Rufus Wainwright, Elvis Costello, Billy Bragg, Bassekou Koyate & Ngoni Ba, Portishead, Tame Impala, the Alabama Shakes, Noah and the Whale, Stornoway, Goat, Fatoumata Diawara, Dub Colossus, Calexico, Sinead O'Connor, Martha Wainwright, Steve Winwood, the London Community Gospel Choir, Xavier Rudd and, for the novelty value, the Stones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.