Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Perigee-Syzygy or Super Moon

Well, if you know what my title means, then I take my hat off to you! The phenomenon of the moon coming closer to earth is called perigee-syzygy. When this happens, the moon looks at least 16 to 20 percent bigger than its normal size. I had no idea it was called this, although I daresay if I had asked my older son, who is very knowledgeable about astronomy, he would have told me.

I love it when we have a full moon, and often just gaze at it, so last night when everyone else had probably been asleep for a long time (at least in the UK), I was up, at 2.00 a.m. taking photographs of the moon.

It was blipping cold with the window wide open and I know that this shot is not brilliant, but it's the best my little camera could do and the whole point of blipping is that it means something to me, so when I look at this in years to come, I will probably remember how cold I got whilst looking at the moon.

When I eventually got into bed, I didn't dare put my feet on Mr. HCB who was, by this time, snoring well. It took me a long time to go off to sleep but I didn't have to get up for work this morning so that was a bonus.

I remember hearing this song many years ago on the radio, Song to the Moon from the Opera Rusalka by Antonin Dvorak, and it seems quite appropriate for my blip. Enjoy!

Meant to say thank you to all you lovely blippers for your good wishes for Charlotte - she does have glandular fever, but hopefully with rest and lots of TLC she will soon be feeling much better.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.