SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Beowulf

Well, I am enjoying rooting around for LBB14. I still can’t find my Hunt Emerson edition of The Ancient Mariner but in my searching I found this. It was my husband’s and I’ve never read it but am intending to, seeing as it has found me and I have found it. I will always remember our conversation about Heaney and ‘So’ … the art of good translation is such a wonder … and in the remembering, miss all our conversations, including the mundane, in fact, particularly the mundane, like what to cook for dinner. 
The epic poem has been retold here for children by Kevin Crossley-Holland and is illustrated (rather scarily) by Charles Keeping.

After a difficult day at work I’ve been listening to this whilst doing some admin https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4ulrEjHC0g … it seemed to fit.

And this has been relevant this week too and coincidentally connects with language, translation and reminiscence and reprocessing in a different language https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m001w17b

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.