Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Living the high life

Well that was a wild night! I never usually waken up until around 7am, perhaps later in the depths of dark winter, but last night I couldn't get to sleep and was wide awake at 5.45am, when there was actually a line of light in the sky to the NE, though it was the wind battering the front of the house wot did it, I think. We're not used to our bedroom being affected by noisy weather!

I was glad to see, however, when I went out to the car at 8.20, that there was no frost sticking the doors shut, so I was able to go for the weekly shop I missed yesterday. The shelves seemed much better stocked than has been the case: external influences? Chance? or simply a better day to shop? Thing is, I've enjoyed the feeling of having a three-day weekend after getting it done on a Thursday ...

The morning thereafter was disrupted by a scam call purporting to be from BT OpenReach. I picked up when it rang, heard the elaborately polite foreign voice asking how I was this morning - always a giveaway - and handed the phone to Himself so that I could get on with making the coffee. Then I was horrified to learn that Himself was on the verge of going to do something about checking our IP address, but was distracted from my attempts to get him to hang up by a friend phoning my mobile ... You get the picture. In the end I more or less wrestled the phone back, told the man at the other end - who by this time was shouting down the line - that I was me, and hanging up. Apparently this "IP Address" stuff is going the rounds at the moment. Much more pleasant was a call immediately after all this from #1 son, feeling much better and hoping to escape soon. Fingers crossed for tomorrow...

Then I spent some time watching #2 son's plane heading from Dublin to Edinburgh. Last year I succumbed to the charms of the paid-for version of Plane Finder, which gives you the options of 3D images as well as a "pilot's-eye" view - fun when it's your own country and you can see exactly where they are. It's added to the feeling of unease all week that he's been in NY, working but also getting to several jazz venues. (I know. Mothers again.)

We went for a walk. By the time we went out even the Western Ferries had gone off and the sea was a mass of white horses all heading in our direction, but we found the Ardyne Farm road was sheltered by the hills and marched up the hill for a mile to get the circulation working. 

And the high life? That was later. We'd noticed that our favourite local fine dining establishment was going to be open this weekend, and a swift text earlier in the week had secured us a booking for this evening. So my photo is of my glass of exquisitely chilled Fino, the prequel to our meal, taken in the sitting room behind the restaurant. (Smoked salmon terrine served with celeriac and a slice of lemon, followed by saddle of venison, perfectly cooked, with dauphinoise potatoes. Couldn't find room for a pudding, but there was tablet with the coffee ...)  When we staggered forth after dinner, the rain had temporarily stopped, so we got home without getting wet. Just another lovely meal, served with great attentiveness. Chatters scores again!

And now I need to go and sleep it all off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.