Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

May Drama

A bit Shakespearian here..

Emerging from it's larval stage on a sunny day it mates in the evening. The female drops her eggs in the water and they both die..all in one day! Or... a Russian ballet come to that! High drama then!!

Before this it lives 2 years as a nymph in the water breathing through the gills on it's back.

As I dog walked hobbled (I'd stumbled yesterday and my big toe was black!) on the banks of the Severn this afternoon scouring the nettle beds for a blip I chanced upon this. Turning round with no dog in sight and the Severn in front of me I was a tad apprehensive but they had only gone to a fisherman's pontoon on the bank t0 wallow in the mud there because they were both hot! Oh...and VERY dirty but hey! We are not precious! More.... rufty tufty :))

I have got to say THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH EVERYONE for the stars and hearts and comments yesterday! Massive thanks! Very thrilled that my image has been liked and that it's now on the front of the favourites page. Now that doesn't happen often:)))!!!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.