Life through a lens

By Effigy

Mellbreak

Mellbreak... What can I say, never again. I knew I was going to struggle with this fell due to being steep and scree but I didn't realise to the extent I'd struggle. My plan was to take the route on the side but as it was narrow and scree and I have a fear of heights and exposed edges I started feeling dizzy and nauseous so headed back. I really didn't want to give up and go home so I started to attempt the steep scree route which was the route I wanted to avoid in the first place, I started scrambling up hating every minute of it then my fear of heights kicked in, I managed to sit down and sob a little, mainly from frustration as I don't like to be defeated but when your legs are shaking and you're feeling dizzy and scared it's hard to talk yourself round to carrying on. I sat where I was waiting for the two strangers who were heading my way, I explained I was scared of heights and felt too scared to move, they kindly helped me continue even though at times my legs were shaking, I was struggling to breathe through sheer fear of heights, I clung to heather for dear life and my nails are full of mud from clawing my way up. I really was questioning my life choices at those moments. I made it to the top though but I never want to walk up another steep scree slope again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.