Keith B

By keibr

Eurasian blue tit...

...just outside the window of The Red House. While BrambleBlossom and NotCuthbert were staying there we set up the peanut holder, partly so they could see the birds feeding outside their window, and partly in preparation for the next visitors, with two small children. I added the fatballs to make the area even more attractive to bird-life, and it seems to have worked.
Later in the day I snow-shoed up our hill, racing up to catch the sunset, which I did. I sat up there drinking coffee in the sun and actually had to open my coat, because there was so much heat in the sun, despite the minus 7° temperatures. As a sign of how cold it is the little snow that fell in the night is still sprinkling the branches of the fir trees. Even the individual, delicate flakes are still balancing there, unmelted 12 hours after falling (see extra).
Once the sun set you could feel the temperature drop quickly, frozen condensation appearing on my beard, and nose and cheeks burning slightly with the chill. (Just now it's minus 16°C)
PS Today I remembered to post the extra picture!! Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.