MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Help From Above

Mishka and I were on our morning walk when I heard the sirens. Soon afterwards the Essex and Herts Air Ambulance came into view. It circled our garden and dropped behind the glasshouses. I rushed down to our field and saw that it had landed in the field beyond the Donkey Field. A paramedic was helping a doctor to climb over a barbed wire fence. (Extras) The medical professionals made their way across the road to a former nursery where lots of businesses operate.

The farmer walked to greet the pilot of the helicopter. I decided to scramble under the barbed wire and join them. It is the first time I have actually set foot in the Donkey Field. I was thinking of my paternal grandfather who used to look after the livestock here when my father was a baby.

It was wonderful to be up close to this fantastic machine. I had quite a long conversation with the pilot. He sold his engineering business to raise the money to learn to fly the helicopter. Before he worked for the air ambulance he was an instructor and examiner. He met his doctor wife on the job. I love talking aviation. 

I knew that I would not be told the reason why they were there. I hope that the casualty is not in too bad a way.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.