CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Nuthatch in the queue for the sunflower seeds

I stayed in my study as the rain fell and as ever was enjoying the daily exploits of the birds in our garden. We have a pair of resident nuthatches living around our garden, and sometimes more of them, so I assume they are breeding.

They fly up to this dead rhus tree which I haven't cut down as it provides a great resting point for many birds. There can sometimes be as many as twenty birds on or around the feeders but usually the nuthatches' arrival can scatter the smaller birds. There is definitely a hierarchy but I' haven't worked it out as yet. I must keep watching.

The rain stayed all day so this is a rather drench and somewhat dark picture, but I'm happy with it as it shows one of my favourite birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.