manabanana

By manabanana

doodles

I'm trying not to be excessively enthusiastic about my daughter drawing, because it can be off-putting, even if you're only two and a half. I love drawing, but I'm trying to let her become interested in it herself, and I don't want to influence her by 'showing' her how to draw. So, I left her to her own devices today while I did some cooking. Result: drawing on table. I then jettisoned my carefully considered stance by photographing it - thus showing excessive enthusiasm and encouraging further furniture vandalism (she drew some more faces while I took this picture).

Drawing a circle is a big developmental milestone, and of course the next logical step is to add eyes and a smile to it. Faces are the things we instinctively respond to, and want to record.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.