David J. Rose

By djrose007

Out with the old...............

And in with the new.
For the past 8 days we have been freezing cold in our house due to our old boiler giving up the ghost last Monday.
Before the Monday it had an intermittent fault and when I informed the insurance company they informed me, after receiving the engineers report, that it would cost £501 to replace the EXTRACTION FAN!!!!!! I thought it was daylight robbery but the boiler is 28 years old so it was bound to go sometime.
So, we had British Gas in to give us a quote and I must say the advisor was brilliant. He explained all of the options and explained that due to the size of our house (5 bed, rear extension, 17 radiators) we should be looking at a conventional boiler. 
That was on Friday and today, Monday, it was delivered and installed. Couldn't ask for a much better service than that.
We are warm again, but I must admit that this past week reminded me of my childhood when the only heating we had was a single fire, but then again we only had two rooms, plus a small scullery,  but I very well remember ice on the INSIDE of the window panes. What luxury, when I was 10 years old, to move into a brand new council house with a couple of radiators, 3 bedrooms and my Mum was over the moon to have a twin tub washing machine  :-)
Next job is to adjust the cabinet that was around the old boiler to fit around the new one. Mainly just some sawing involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.