The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Barn owl

A barn owl perches briefly on a fence post before taking to its light, bouncy flight again, scouring the longer grass fields for its evening meal.  I went for a low level walk today for a change, and was rewarded with my best views of a barn owl so far this year.  And the first time I've ever managed to photograph one.  For all the diversity of coastal, wetland and woodland birds that I was familiar with in Arnside and Silverdale, I hardly ever saw one of these.  Here they are a familiar sight at dawn and dusk.  Surely one of Britain's most beautiful and charismatic birds.

We took advantage of a good weather day to get a lot of tidying up done outside, and to reduce the size of the wood pile and pallet mountain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.