I vill say thees only wance...

I had a wee mind wander the other day. It was initiated by a game I'm playing in which there is a character who is French but he speaks in that sterotypical stunted English with French twang thing like the characters on 'Allo 'Allo.

I was wondering if there is an equivalent in other languages where native speakers would put on a 'French accent' within their native language to imply speaking in French. For instance, someone Japanese, speaking in Japanese but with a French twang.

Does anyone know of this? I'm sure someone from our international community can answer this?

-------------

This also reminded me of a scene from one of Bruce Lee's films, 'The Way of the Dragon'. The Way of the Dragon is notable as being Chuck Norris' first on-screen appearance. The film was originally shot in Mandarin (I think, don't quote me) and is set in Italy but my version of it was entirely dubbed into English.

The scene is when Bruce's character first lands in Rome and goes to a restaurant. The exchange is initially funny because of the silliness that just is the badly dubbed voices. Once you realize that in the original, Bruce would have been speaking in Mandarin and the waitress would have been speaking in Italian, it makes more sense and then you get a second level of funniness in the form it was intended.

If you've not seen any Bruce Lee films, watch Enter the Dragon first and then The Way of the Dragon second. Very good films.


By the way, if you didn't click on that Chuck Norris link above, go and do it now. So funny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.