Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

A slightly different view

The bus driver betrayed us.

Before we got dropped off outside Mr Matheson's campsite the night before we had been duly informed that the weather was forecast to stay nice for the week. The day before had been such a scorcher that we didn't hesitate to stay for another night.

We woke up in the eye of a storm. Guy ropes were flying around like wayward tentacles, poles were buckling in the wind and water crept up from the grass and onto my sleeping bag. In the front porch the bacon was soggy and the wind was aiding the cheddar on its bid for escape.

What do you in a situation like this? where your entire existence is outside, as an outdoorsman. Nothing in this weather could tempt you outside; despite the campsite having facilites (a real luxury), I daren't go to the toilet, resisting temptation for four hours in a crippling, anxious state. I risked wetting myself for fear of getting slightly damp.

All you can do is hole up and play drawing games or write out all the states of the U.S which is pretty satisfying, I guess, until you realise you've written Alaska twice and Something not at all (oh god, how poncy does that sound?!).

We decided to head back to the mainland the next day, using our old friend the post-bus which made a daily visit to the end of Donald's drive some time between half eight and ten past nine. Unlike the car people, who could pack up and leave as soon as the first grey cloud moves o'er head, we had to stay - bogged down.

And although hitch-hiking the Hebrides was, at times, mildly stressful (let's be honest, such freedom at this age pales in comparison to anything stressful in the real world) the sense of mini-adventure and my acceptance into the guild of outdoorsman, earning my place next to Mears and Grylls, was accentuated by the dramatic and ever-changing environment.

Having said that, I was glad to grap my mucky mitts round a rate cold gin & tonic upon arriving home, and then crafting a few more for safe measure.

BIG


* * *

This happens to be my 365th blip, only took me 4 years. I have enjoyed, and will continue to enjoy it thoroughly, I'm sure.

* * *

... Nebraska!!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.