KateH

By KateH

Just a beautiful day

Sometimes that’s all you need for a blip.  Walked in the woods in the morning and paused at what I call Drone Corner as I always think of Rory flying his drone here on our first Christmas Day in the house.  It was lovely and I went into an office day with a spring in my step. 

Managed a brisk 20 minute walk at lunchtime too but had taken off my watch to charge so the steps didn’t register.  Deeply annoying!  A couple of zooms but they were over by 4 and I mopped up two BAFTA screeners to enable me to vote tomorrow.  

The final one was Zone of Interest which is an astonishing piece of film making.  It’s the one about the Hoess family making an idyllic life for themselves whilst living next door to Auschwitz where he was commandent.   I should have seen it on the big screen but there is something intense about an iPad and headphones which allowed it to make its impact.   I knew quite a lot about the making of it as I’d talked to a friend of the director about it.  One thing I am glad I knew is that it was filmed in situ and all the sound was heavily researched and what you heard was at the  level at which they would have heard it.  You see very little of the camp but it is ever present.  The soundscape was extraordinary.  

But sitting intensely on my office sofa didn’t help my back and my osteopath is away on half term.  Frustrating. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.