Man with Potential Selves by Sean Henry 2003

Went to the railway station in Newcastle this afternoon to pick up the tickets I bought online for my trip to London in September. Last week I got a Senior Railcard so I got them one third cheaper. I only paid £58 to get from Newcastle to London and back - First Class.

I did a bit of shopping afterwards and I passed this artwork which is near the station. It is called " Man with Potential Selves" a though-provoking piece by Sean Henry featuring three eight feet high bronze sculptures of the same man in different poses. One stands, one walks and one apparently floats, horizontally, above the ground. They are spread out so I was only able to get one of them in my shot. Will have to make return visits to blip the other two.

Sean Henry was born in England in 1965 and had his first solo show in London in 1988. Henry's other public works include Walking Man in London's Holland Park (2000), Standing Man in Stockholm city (2010) and Lying Man at the Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park in Michigan, USA (2011). In 2007 he completed Couple - the UK's first permanent offshore sculpture at Newbiggin Bay, located 300 meters off the coast of Northumberland.

I mooched around a few charity shops and bought a top for £3, a pair of shorts for £1 ( don't worry they will not be seen in public - only for wearing in the garden if/when we get some hot weather ) and a new Cotton Traders bag for £5.

Bought more fruit as last nights supply from Tesco ( 2 packs of tomatoes, pack of grapes, pack of raspberries and pack of plums - and one apple ) was all gone by this morning.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.