Beinghere

By Beinghere

Moss

I was happy to see the moss in the woods is developing its seed pods.
We had such a lovely walk in Hamilton wood this morning. We had delayed our walk to let a shower pass and I’m glad we did because it was followed by blue sky and sunshine. As soon as we got out the car the rookery in the pine trees seemed to erupt with noise. The grass was sparkling with tiny raindrops and the gorse was looking bright and cheerful. I was glad I had worn wellies because it was pretty muddy underfoot in parts.
We walked to the end of the wood, raising the hare when we got there. He darted into the field then lay down with his ears clapped to his head, thinking we couldn’t see him, but the grass is quite short after the sheep grazing.
We saw our first buzzard for months, sitting on the branch of a tree, and the small bird song was plentiful. My Merlin app. told me I was listening to, blue tit, great tit, wren, robin, dunnock, siskin, and meadow pipit.
I had an appointment in Elie in the afternoon so took Geordie for a walk around Ruby Bay afterwards. The sun was shining again and it felt like a spring day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.