Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Aiguille de la Tza …

… above Arolla. A mountain of my youth climbed from the easier opposite side when I was 19 and very fit. More in extra: the Pigne d’Arolla and the Mont Blanc de Cheilon. Second extra of the sun disappearing behind the mountains, the temperature plummeting immediately. 

I love going back to Arolla, it’s a kind of pilgrimage as it is where I fell in love with the Alps and became determined to live somewhere in the mountains. My dear friend, Joan is still living up there, at 2000m altitude, independently, at the age of 88, I think. We just had time for a quick coffee with her and I shall go back to spend more time with her soon.

I needed a day of mountain joy after the emotions of yesterday. I think Jan would have approved. Thanks for all the comments etc. I am not keeping up at all recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.