Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Tree @ Spring Lake

A sad day.
This tree was the subject of my first ever Blip on Tuesday 27 April 2010
Spring Lake

I've always known it's time was coming to an end as chunks have been falling off for over a year now but I'm still sad to see it go.

For the last 2 years it has been the home to a pair of Green Woodpeckers with two successive broods of young. For the last 3 years a family of Kestrels have used it as a vantage point to preen and spy out their quarry. It has been a perch for Little Egrets, Crows, Jackdaws, the occasional Buzzard, Stock Doves and a host of other birds. A starling successfully reared a brood of young in the last few weeks using an old Woodpeckers hole.

I have visited this spot on my way to work on average a couple of times a week for the last eight years and the tree has been a constant point of interest. As of the end of July this will cease as I been served with a redundancy notice and will no longer be passing that way.

I must say I found it quite poignant that the tree should topple just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.