horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

'mon the Wasps!

By 0.2 miles Alloa Athletic are my local team, just a smidge closer than Dunfermline (if measuring to respective grounds), I've been talking about going to see Alloa play for an age, and decided last week that I'd take the opportunity...


I love a night game under the floodlights, and was happily surprised by the tidy football on show. I was expecting attritional punts up the field and ramshackle scrambles in front of goal, but there was some decent passing and excellent touches on show.



Yeah, it did occasionally descend into hoofball, but there was also a more relaxed atmosphere around the ground than when I used to go to see Newcastle play (or even back in the day at Pittodrie for Aberdeen, or with a mate to Tynecastle for Hearts when I moved to Edinburgh).



And there's genuine history here, the club having been formed in 1878, and playing at this location, now bordered by KFC and Lidl, since 1895. This is proper football, and I could see myself enjoying the game again with some lower league fare, if tonight is anything to go by.



The result? A 2-1 home win, and a new Alloa bobbled beanie.And a jump to third in the table (and on this showing Annan look better than the second-bottom they occupy).



I'm contemplating an occasional tour of the various lower league grounds round here. Kelty, Cowdenbeath, Dunfermline, Stirling, dancing in the streets of Raith... But I'll definitely be back to the Indodrill (I kinda want to go back with the proper camera as well).



(bobble hat in the extras after I was assimilated, and the Little Brown Bird project is about to get back on track after a lunchtime doodle)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.