Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Toward

While those unfamiliar with where I live in Dunoon are pondering how to pronounce the title of this blip, I'll just tell you that today began with a spectacular sunrise, when the bright sky was then covered with a golden-infused cloud which rained on us for a bit and I've put the photo of the first glory of it as an extra. I wasn't rushing to get up because there are more morning huvtaes in this week than I'd like, and by the time I had had breakfast the rain had stopped and the sun was shining again.

Because Tuesday is Tuesday  and a tad odd, we went out for a walk at midday, heading down to Toward (it's pronounced Tóward, by the way - nothing to do with direction of travel) and away from the hill clouds. My collage takes you through the village and back again, though really the only real indicator of village status these days is the primary school which is the subject of the first photo. I always think the pupils from this school had a wonderful start with their playground looking over the sea to Bute and Arran, the beach on the other side of the wall, and the big grassy area just out of shot to play football on. 

The second photo was taken approaching the bend round Toward Point, where the lighthouse sits on the point itself, off camera to the right. When  we first moved to Cowal there was a Post Office and shop in the white building at the end of the road, and further along to the left there was a tearoom that served teas in the garden. In fact, the first time we went exploring in the car when my younger son was still very wee he shouted out that there were bunnies in the trees - we scoffed, but it turned out he was right because the tearoom had decorated the trees for Easter with pink blow-up rabbits. All gone now except the school, the nearest general store/post office being in Innellan, up the coast in the next village. 

The last photo was taken on my favourite bit of the walk, up the road back towards the school through the fields. I love the flooded bit with the seagulls in it. We'd spent ages being told by a local all about one of the locked-up houses along the road, and had seen a deer trying to get out of a patch of woodland that remains between the houses. 

And that was that. Pasta at 4.30pm, choir with all the parts but one missing second soprano, pancakes for supper. I suspect that was unwise, as they're still telling me they're there ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.