My Daily Life in Photo's.

By Mothermudd

Berwick Church

St. Michael & All Angels in Berwick East Sussex.
I was at home when I felt the need to visit this beautiful Church that I have visited several times over the years.
As I entered there were several people there chatting & looking at the Art work created by the Bloomsbury Set, so I decided to press a button for some music " Open Thou Mine Eyes", it was beautiful, I sat a while at the front of the Church quietly thinking & praying; as the music stopped I moved over to an Iron Tree that holds candles & I lit one & prayed for World Peace.
I felt so much better for visiting the Church; such beauty inside & out.

Copied from the Churches Website. :)

"In 1941, during the Second World War, Bishop Bell of Chichester commissioned the Bloomsbury artists Duncan Grant, Vanessa Bell and her son Quentin Bell, to decorate the interior of the small rural church of St Michael & All Angels, Berwick. This was the first time that contemporary artists of repute had been allowed to completely decorate the interior of an historic country church. Bishop Bell hoped it would bring about a revival of the commissioning of artists by churches."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.