This is the day

By wrencottage

Welcome, February fair-maid!

I nearly forgot to dig out my little snowdrop jug from the back of the cupboard this year, but I remembered just in time before the snowdrops are over. I am very fond of small garden posies, and have been ever since I was a child, and this afternoon I enjoyed looking round the garden for some tiny flowers to pick. It was good to see that we have some miniature irises out now too, so they give a welcome hint of blue at the back.

I do agree with Tennyson that seeing snowdrops in February reminds us that spring isn’t far away, with all the floral delights that will follow. 


The Snowdrop

Many, many welcomes,
February fair-maid,
Ever as of old time,
Solitary firstling,
Coming in the cold time,
Prophet of the gay time,
Prophet of the May time,
Prophet of the roses,
Many, many welcomes,
February fair-maid!

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.